Nick G. Parras Middle School   Logo
Language Arts Math Social Studies PE Electives Advisement Science Special Education
Principal's Message Parras At A Glance PTSA
Bell Schedule Homework Plan Honor Roll Criteria CCSS Intermural Information Math Placement Student Handbook CDC-The Zone Flyers Teacher Resources CAASPP School Wellness
Incoming 6th Grade New Student Enrollment Registration Transitioning to 9th Grade
Counseling Academic Resources ASCA National Model CJSF Counselor Biographies Cyber Education Hangout Spot High School, College and Career Planning Parent Resources Personal/Social/Emotional Resources Schedule Changes School Counseling Referral Substance Abuse Prevention WEB Why School Counseling
Teacher Websites & Info
Bell Schedule Citizenship Matrix Dress Code Resource Center Student Handbook

Common Core State Standards

What are the Common Core State Standards (CCSS)?

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject at each grade level. In California, the State Board of Education determines the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school. The California Department of Education helps schools support all students in meeting the standards.

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English language arts and mathematics. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps to ensure that all students get a high-quality education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

Online assessments linked to the CCSS have been developed by the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC). California is scheduled to begin administering the operational version of these online assessments in the 2014-15 school year. 

Latest Information

No news posted